July 30, 2010

  • Giving thanks to the Lord …

    Picture by LittleEgypt

     

    This coming Saturday marks five years since Terry (aka, Lord Pineapple) passed away.  Looking through my old blog posts I came across some of his comments and remembered what a great time I had chatting with him online, even through type he had an English accent … but maybe that’s because he typed as if he was Shakespeare.

    I was always amazed at his bravery in losing himself to the characters he created – and the man didn’t hold his tongue.  When he got diagnosed with cancer he let us know by starting his site … More Than Just Crabs.  Through there he shared how he was doing, along with more poetry by his various characters … The Three-Headed Sarahs, Blackie Fortuna, Rev. Tobias Trontby, Sophie Lucy Morgan and all the others that lived inside him. 

    Hopefully where he is they are finding him just as entertaining and that it occupies his time so he doesn’t take notice that every once in a while he is missed here.

     

     


     

    The story of my life.

    To Becca and many others, with gratitude.

    I was born without morals
    Without empathy
    Without love,
    So it is amazing in a way
    That hardly anyone suffered because of me.

    I had my shameful moments
    All before the age of about 17,
    But I was not really evil.

    I have never molested a child.
    Never forced a woman to have sex with me,
    Never had sexual relations with a man,
    Yet I was born without morals,
    Without empathy.

    It’s true that I had good points,
    I could not blatently lie
    That meant I had to make up new lives for me,
    I needed to act,
    To be a clown,
    To write fiction
    And write under various personæ.

    It is what people who cannot lie do best.

    Sadly I have an arrogance,
    I am a terrible name-dropper,
    Yet all the none-poets I met
    I only met through my job,
    And the only Americans
    Were poets,
    Like Anne Stevenson
    The first person to help
    Me to start to get published.

    But I shamelessy name-drop
    Without saying that some of whom I met
    (Like John Cleese
    Who thought me an insufferible little prig!)

    For I was born without morals
    Without empathy
    Without love.

    So why do certain things like the death of someone,
    The cruelity to a child,
    Wars, poverty and so on
    Disgust me so?

    To be honest
    There is only one reason
    I have never hurt, never killed,
    Gratitude.

    Grateful to people for loving me,
    Every man woman or child
    Who have made a kind remark to me
    Every smile they gave me
    And every laugh.

    They should have killed me at birth
    People said that,
    Me included,
    It could have been true
    If I was not grateful
    To wonderful kind people like you.



     

Comments (5)

  • i go back & read often    it was a unique window of time  in my estimation     blessings & smiles )))  beck

  • Dear Liz,

    It’s tomorrow. I don’t forget the date either. Although I did plan on creating a memorial entry earlier in the year, I probably won’t, but I’ll recommend this one. I usually drop by his blog and leave him a comment too. I’m sure he appreciates it. I can remember when I first joined Xanga, he was the first “Xangalebrity” I encountered. Everyone seemed to know Terry, but not as Terry, but as either Lord Pineapple, or any of the other characters, including the three headed bird from another planet!

    Perfect poem selection.

    RIP Terry Cuthbert.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool 

  • interesting, from all points of view. blessings…

  • Interesting.  Thanks for posting.

  • My favorite was the Three Headed Sarah but I remember the last one the most which is probably what he wouldn’t have wanted.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *