August 13, 2006

  • Last Sunday I went to Knott's Berry Farm with Mike and had a great time.  We both went on Ghostrider, which had quite the long line - and I'm certain that for both of us the memory will last a lifetime.  I swear I don't recall the ride being so violent because halfway into it I wanted to get off already. 

    But, the rest of the day was altogether pleasant with great weather and even better food.  Although at first I didn't feel too good about waiting in line for about an hour to eat some fried chicken ... and I inhaled those fantastic biscuits they had as appetizers as well.

    As for my broken leg, I'm getting better every day.  Although it does tire me out quite a lot to just work and take my daily walks now - in other words I nap a lot (more then I'd like to actually)! But, at least I am thankful that I can walk.

    So for now, enjoy some pictures I took at Knott's!




    Here's the entrance to Knott's, which proclaims it as America's 1st theme park.  I believe that in the background is Silver Bullet which hurls passengers around as they swing freely from their seat.




    This is a train inside ghost town added for ambiance I suppose.  I thought this picture came out pretty good with the shadows there.



    Obviously this lady didn't know I was taking this picture, but I thought it was a great shot.  Candid shots like this are the kind I really like.




    This gentleman was explaining the symbolism behind the Aztec calendar, and he was also carving it out of the wood.  In his hand is one of his woodworking tools.




    This is a shot of the Calico Mine ride.  It was the most advanced ride at the time because of the animated miners inside, but now it seems pretty dated - though still very enjoyable.

Comments (17)

  • that lady look slike she is geting it on with the statue

    Have I told you that I missed you? oh yeah i probably did many times...I'm a big suck that way lol

  • awww thanks ..<3

  • ryc: i've got a Nikon D50 :) the shots of the bees were done with my 18-55mm F/3.6, but i've also got a 50mm F/1.8 and a 55-200mm F/5.6 :)

    *xors

  • Liz!  ((((pounce and great big hugs!))))  Glad you're doing well... I wonder and worry about you...

    I've been to Knotts Berry farm... company I worked for was in CA for exhibit and  rented the whole thing out many years ago.. couldn't go on the rides but did lots of other stuff!  Would love to go back!

  • Hi, I'm Stephan. You don't know me, but I'm taking a survey. What do you think of the phrase children should be seen and not heard? Plz c/b.

    -Stephan

  • Been a long time since I have been there. Nice...

  • Yay Liz;) I'm so happy for you.

    You've come such a long way, and I swear to you it only gets better. I belly danced the other day! :) and I've gone hiking!  It took a long time to get here( 8 months) but I'm here! and you will be too I promise!

  • my mom, brother, neice and i went on a rollercoaster recently that i had the same experience on as you did with this one. I don't go to theme parks that often and i think because of that it makes you forget how rollercoasters are. I DON'T like rollercoasters! i was in the middle of "the loch ness monster" when i found that fact out. My mom did better on the ride than i did and she is 61.
    i'm glad you're getting around better. my favorite thing to do is nap in the afternoon. i'm trying to be awake more now though and work isn't allowing me to really nap like i use to. i kind of miss them.

  • Knott's Berry Farm . . . wow. Those pictures bring back a flood of memories from my childhood. The thing I love about these photos is that they all remind me so vividly of the Knott's that I remember from twenty-plus years ago -- the entrance, the ghost train, the Calico Mine -- rather than the more updated parts of the park.

    I'm glad you're back and posting again. I missed your words and images when you were gone.

  • *hey*

    that place looks like a fun place to be. i've never been there. i'll e-mail you back that xanga entry that you haven't read yet. ((hugs))

  • hey, good to see some photo posts again! :)

  • Yo yo yo!  :o P  Actually... the "all that's going on" is over... my divorce is final... I have my maiden name back (which I love)  I just bought a new car today!  Well new used... a Gold 2004 Pontiac Bonneville SE... all the bells and whistles... sun roof etc...  aaand the guys were able to pull it off with: my credit being bad, I'm unemployed, Jim is 3 months behind on the truck and it shows on my report... I'm astounded!  I still don't know how they did it but they did!  Have you hugged your car salesman today?  lmao  :o P  I just feel so much lighter... we'll see... how art thou dear one?  Are you a happy camper?  I love you!!!  (((((Hugs)))))

  • ohhh nice pictures. glad you had a good time.

    take care!

  • Knotts is the only theme park in Cali I've never been to. I should do it someday, considering it probably has the best history of all! Glad to hear your leg is getting better everyday. I am still eyeing my blades, but haven't touched them since your accident. Still contemplating.

  • MiLady,
    An audience regarding a new writing challenge is requested of you.  Please follow the link below to the site to read about the challenge.
    ~Kween

  • ryc: i'm sure if something doesn't happen soon for him they'll tell him to just come back home. my parents aren't exactly rich eigther they just saved their money when they could.

  • Really worthwhile data, thank you for your post. go check 5. This will not really work, I think like this. 8 0 5. Oh my god, there is a great deal of worthwhile data above! go 6 1. Well, I don't really think it will work.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *