Month: May 2010

  • A Day at Disneyland …

    I’ll have to start working on a blog where I talk about where I’ve been and what I’ve done … which isn’t much … but yet a lot at the same time.  Regardless, yesterday was my furlough day and by some happy coincidence the date which my friend picked to have lunch at Club 33 for all the ladies in our group – one of those ladies being my sister.  Of course it took place at Disneyland, since I still go there quite often … and actually this past March I took my first trip to Walt Disney World so hopefully I’ll post a few pictures from that as well.

    Friday was a beautiful California day, with the sun shining and a gentle breeze to make the temperature perfect!  My sister and I walked around and enjoyed the atmosphere, and since we both have annual passes we weren’t in a rush to get on any specific rides – especially with the Memorial Day weekend crowds in full swing.  First stop was California Adventure which is having a Food & Wine Festival until the end of this month, my main mission was to get my sister to taste the yummy balsamic vinegars and olive oils that were being sold at the Lucero Olive Oil booth.

    They had fig, red apple, wild cherry, peach, and blueberry balsamic vinegars on tap to taste.  Their olive oils also had various flavors such as garlic, mandarin orange, and lemon.  My sister ended up falling in love with the blueberry balsamic and lemon olive oil combo.

    After spending some time at the Festival waiting for our lunch reservation time to come up we started heading over to Disneyland, which was almost as crowded as California Adventure.

    They converted the old bank on Main Street into a gallery where they have various paintings, sculptures, and various limited edition items up for sale.  At the moment due to the upcoming 55th Anniversary they have a special exhibit going on.  One of the items that I thought was particularly interesting was the Oraculum (I hope I spelled that right) from the recent Alice movie with Johnny Depp.

    Eventually 2pm rolled around and we all gathered for a wonderful buffet lunch at Club 33.  I decided on the Chateaubriand for my main course, and dined on the various offerings in the buffet … such as shrimp, heirloom tomatoes with balsamic, salad, and lots of fresh fruit/berries.  Of course lunch was accompanied by some great friends and some great laughs as well!

    Alas though, all good things must come to an end … and soon enough we came to the end of our lunch and we parted ways.  My sister and I decided to venture out into the park for a few more hours and went off to my sister’s favorite ride … Winnie the Pooh.  With the crowds so heavy we walked around some more in order to see the first showing of Scott Bruce, an Elvis impersonator who was going to be performing that night … I have to say that he was well worth the wait.

     

     

     

  • What The ?!?!?! …

    You know I never truly left Xanga, especially since I get e-mails to the blogs I’ve subscribed to.  Yet I never really came here to post much of anything, and since I moved to my own place (finally) taking care of myself (and my pets) has become rather time consuming.  The commute from Simi Valley to Downtown LA every weekday alone is crazy, but I’ve learned to live with that kind of crazy now.

    Even crazier that my workplace is becoming more and more like a demented Dilbert cartoon, and I’m not sure if I should find it sad that I can start identifying my life with a cartoon …

    Anyways, for now I suppose I’ll look around and see who’s still kicking around here.  See what’s changed (for better and for worse) … and just hope that maybe this place might be like it was when I started here.